366 Poems: November 23rd, 2016

Lost and Found

Last summer I chose to lose something

and today I chose

to find it again.

And it hurt to read those words

that today I still don’t

understand,

but I hope, for our sake,

that it flies into my jacket pocket one day

and is carried out, by the wind,

into the rain,

down into the gutter,

straight into the stomachs of rats

and the hell fires at the center of the earth

forever…

And no, I cannot burn it myself.

You cannot kill,

only outrun,

your own unhappiness.

“She couldn’t wait any longer”
http://yesterdayswake.deviantart.com/

Leave a Reply

