366 Poems: November 1st, 2016

Street Lamp

Tonight I sat with you on the hood of my car

underneath the yellow street lamp..

and it was then and there that I felt like I’d made it.

That we’d made it.

That this was the scene before the end credits

where all those worries and fears

had already fallen away,

and you and I were like stars in the sky,

so desperately far away

from infinity

and yet here we were shining like supernovas.

Like epiphanies.

Like a white smile in the dark…

And I hope that tonight you felt something different

when I told you I loved you.

Because tonight I meant it

like never before.

Expelled within a giggle

after a final kiss,

on the car, underneath the lamp,

in the starlight…

This is what I left you with.

This is what I’ll come back to you with.

Because I am never

ever

ever,

driving away.

Leave a Reply

