366 Poems: September 5th, 2016

Haunted

In my room’s window pane,

there’s a stare in the glare–

very different and dark

from what often hides there.

And just straight through my door

there’s a heart, on the floor,

bleeding red for someone

who will come back no more.

In the lawn, through the grass

sounds the breaking of glass

as the muggers and thieves

run and flee as they pass.

And my ghost, she’s the host

of this shadowy place.

She is hers all her own

and no one owns her space.

But she’s mine, for the while

because since that dark night,

when I saw that the window

did not stare quite right,

and the floor held a beat,

and a scream filled the street–

There the ghost, she came in

and swept me from my feet.

And she cried in my ear

about failure, and fear

and losing every warm thing

that my fingers held dear…

And I hugged her.

I hugged her so tight.

I apologized for the world

and how everything had not been quite so

alright.

Now the ghost, she lights candles

that she blows out at night.

And she protects me from every hell.

.

And I see, she is me.

(Oh it’s easy to tell.)

But I promised her that she could shout.

She could cry, she could plead,

she could hack all the blog sites

and write it down

as she needs…

You don’t need

to beat the ghost.

You just need to set her

free.

Leave a Reply

