366 Poems: August 22nd, 2016

Poetically Awkward

I long for the poetically awkward:

for the night our arms go numb

when we haven’t yet figured out how to hold each other

For the days you hug me in the hallway

and I’m too anxious to hug you back

For the wacky faces made across the classroom

when we’re not sure if we’re looking the same direction

For all the laughs and silly smiles

For all the words taken the wrong way.

I long for a piece of paper

describing all my feats and faults

with words like “worrisome,” “Wiccan,” “acne prone,”

that make me laugh out loud.

And below it, the words,

“These are all the reasons I love you.”

Wrapped up in a box,

with a shell and some fast food coupons

just so I have an excuse to visit you at work.

Oh how I long

for the most awkward boy on the planet

and the way he makes me smile…

It’s prettier than any poem I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

