366 Poems: August 20th, 2016

Mirror Mirror

Take a look in the mirror.

.

Are you who you thought you were going to be?

Oh please, tell me.

I’m not trying to be existential

or judge the face across the screen.

I’m just wondering why she seems

so different

from the flesh outside the glass.

Oh she’s cold, and she’s clear,

and this girl on the other side

feels so much, here.

And I’d rather feel, I’d rather be real

than one who begs to disappear.

But take a look in the mirror.

Who is she?

Is that me?

Is that the face my eyes

denied

will never truly get to see?

And if I’m not locked behind her shine…

.

Does that mean I’m free?

Leave a Reply

