366 Poems: July 6th, 2016

Snake Charmer

Isn’t it funny

how they compare us to snakes?

Like, “Oh, she’s a slippery one.”

“A viper.”

“A serpent.”

Isn’t it funny

how they think we’re all charmers?

Like, “Smile for me, darling.”

“Do a trick.”

“I won’t bite.”

Oh, but I will.

You see I’ve grown tired

of men with old flutes

who think playing their songs

is going to make me

interested.

But I am my own creature.

I play by my own rules.

And you’ve got very thin skin

to be messing

where

you

don’t

belong.

.

Then again,

snakes will be snakes, no?

Leave a Reply

