366 Poems: July 3rd, 2016

Copycats

This poem

has already been written.

This idea

has already been used.

This life

someone’s already been living.

Now they ask,

“So how did you choose

to be different?”

No I didn’t.

I’m just a statistic on your wall:

the one with trophies

and certificates

trying to prove that she was the best

of them all.

But what do I prove to you

that wasn’t all a plan

to prove something

to me?

Can you see?

In the words all the copycats call…

.

I’m just gonna be me.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: 366 Poems: July 3rd, 2016 — Real Girl; No Name – wolf4915

Leave a Reply

