366 Poems: June 21st, 2016

Girl in a Video Game

I want to be the girl

in the video game:

the one with crazy hair colors

and unrealistic features.

The one who can somehow wear armor

and a bikini at the same time.

The one who kicks butt

in a dress.

The one who drives cars

and fights dragons

and gets saved by the hero

when she wants to.

I want to be the hero.

I want to be the goddess,

the princess,

the best friend,

the monster.

I want to save the Earth

and every world in between,

all while in the royal comfort

of my binary kingdom…

Why?

Because in video games,

I can rule.

In video games,

I can wear what I want.

In video games,

I can be the amazing strong woman I was born to be…

And no one questions it.

1 Comment

  1. I try not to post many political things but I’m just thinking out loud today… I’ve been playing Kid Icarus: Uprising recently and I keep thinking of how Palutena is really cool, and how much Pit and everyone else respects her as a ruler… I don’t know it was just a nice thought.

Leave a Reply

