366 Poems: May 26th, 2016

Paradise

It’s sad to think that my concept of wilderness

only stretches a few miles outside

the highway,

that the shadow of the car against the sun

is all that I can touch

of those trees.

Like all of the poems I decided I shouldn’t write,

they stay unblemished.

Like the tears of a boy who is so beautiful when he cries,

they are left on their own.

And for the good of the cause

I am glad I cannot interfere,

yet still my pen wishes to make

its mark.

It’s sad…

but it’s paradise.

And there are some days like today

where I don’t mind sitting back

and wasting

away.

“Leaving the Island”
http://tfavretto.deviantart.com/

Leave a Reply

