366 Poems: April 9th, 2016

History

Some days I could say

I wold live in 1890,

where I’d read Sherlock Holmes in the paper each morn.

And some days I could say

I would live in 1920,

where I could be a part of America’s new women.

And some days I could say

I would live in 1960,

with the dance and romance of the rhythm and blues.

And some days I could say

I would live in 1980,

with the fear and the fall and the end of history…

.

But I know now, in 2016,

that it is my turn to make the mistakes.

That today I have the privilege

of living with the stories,

the icons, the music, the videos,

the consequences–

It’s all on me now

to make history begin again…

.

And I honestly wouldn’t have it any other way.

“Symbols of history”
http://stareater.deviantart.com/

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

