366 Poems: March 28th, 2016

The Oncoming Storm

I’ve never been able to capture

in words

the strength of an oncoming storm.

And it’s a challenge for me,

because in the wind I can feel

those words.

I can feel the darkness and the hum

of the electricity

and the air that calls me to the stage.

And the power, and the pulsing,

of a sky about to break.

And I feel as though I am standing

at the foot of a mountain

where the wind blows and the sky throws

crinkled leaves right through my hair,

and I can never help but feel

so small…

.

The day I learn

to write with that power

is the day I rule the world.

Leave a Reply

