366 Poems: March 8th, 2016

My Rainbow

Rushing, the red through my veins, and it pours

through the stress and the rage and the passions of life.

Brushing, the orange, from tips of my hair–

it’s a sun, it’s a spark, it’s a kiss in the night.

Playing, the yellows in my fingertips

in the melodies, harmonies, time’s little dance.

Staying, the green that grows up from my toes–

it’s a strength, it’s a love, it’s a dare for a chance.

And the blues and the violets, the sweet indigo’s,

that cover all my hands in this night, let me know

that I’m more than my skin, and I should let it show…

There’s always a rainbow after rain,

don’t you know?

Leave a Reply

