366 Poems: February 21st, 2016

A New Mirror

I don’t know what happened that day

that made me finally decide that I was beautiful.

Perhaps my family bought a new mirror

and switched it without me knowing.

Perhaps his sweet words finally convinced me,

and everyone else’s did too.

Perhaps the stress finally let me go

and I smiled brighter, laughed louder,

or perhaps nothing had changed at all

and I, in my blind state,

finally looked a bit closer.

.

I really don’t know what happened

to make me see this way,

but please, don’t ever let it change.

I like this new mirror.

I like this new me,

and perhaps it’s time to show the world

that they can beat their reflections too.

“You Are Beautiful”
http://kezzi-rose.deviantart.com/

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

