366 Poems: February 1st, 2016

Dragon Fire

“Oh just be the dragon, darling–

be the beast they’re looking for

with those scales and claws so perfect

that they’ll never hear the roar.

“They’ll just see the queen, so shiny

in the cage marked, ‘Do Not Touch.’

Better not disturb the balance

that you have to love so much.

“Keep your eyes bright and your scales clean

like a good monster would do,

and take care to not fight back–

for they might just split you in two.”

Oh but what about my prince?

“Oh please, don’t even think to try

and take some love to your treasure trove

where his dirty fingers pry.

“Oh just listen to me, darling

and I’m sure you’ll be a sight

when you’re just what they want you to be

and spread your wings in– what?”

” What are you doing?”

“Put me down!”

Oh my damsel, caring sweetheart,

you are kind to say the least

and although I think you do mean well

you forget, I’m a beast.

“But where are you taking me?”

Just a cave deep underground

where I’ll hide among imperfect gems

and never make a sound.

Oh my dear…

If you search for perfect monsters,

there is one thing you should learn:

if you wish to play with fire,

then you’d best expect to burn.

Leave a Reply

