366 Poems: January 16th, 2016

I Am Them Now

Three years ago I stood in this classroom

watching people greater,

smarter,

better,

sitting at their various work tables

building their various devices

and only ever looking my way

to ask if I could do something

that they didn’t want to do.

.

I am them now.

.

Three years later I stand in this palace

watching people younger,

newer,

brighter,

standing in their various corners

looking lost and confused

and only heading my way

to see if I can give them a chance

to try something new.

.

They are me now.

Leave a Reply

