Fireflies (This Year)

Last year you told me that everyone knew me

and that I should be proud of that fact.

Oh, but did I really?

Was I really that much of an open book

that the myriads could recall my name

and say that I had a good spirit?

.

Yesterday I looked out into the summer air

and saw the fireflies,

lighting up the white daisy fields in some extravagant glittery show.

But they’re all just simple insects caught in the moment.

Last year I was a hummingbird on sugar-high,

taking it all in because I was supposed to:

because I needed to.

Because I needed to prove to myself that I was still worth it…

.

I am not a simple insect.

I am not a person who was meant to fly across this earth

only to have someone else finish the journey.

This year was a new chapter:

a continuation after so many new beginnings,

but this time I know what to expect.

I know how to say that things are going to be alright,

and they are,

because I am flying higher than ever before…

.

Last year you told me that everyone knew me

and that I should be proud of that fact.

This year, I learned how to know myself,

and THAT is something worth shining over.

Leave a Reply

