10 Poems by Bedtime: #9

Driving

I want to apologize

for not recognizing you as a mistake;

for not seeing that you,

of all people,

would be the first to see me fall.

And I did fall,

but it was not into your arms.

It was on the sidewalk outside the movie theater

where I told you,

on a first date,

that we should just be friends.

You drove 50 miles for a rejection

and I’m sorry…

but if it helps,

it’s been more than a year since then

and I’m still driving.

“Driving to Wonderland”
http://willylorbo.deviantart.com/

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

