10 Poems by Bedtime: #7

Do I Wanna Know?

Do I want to know why

you didn’t speak to me for four months,

or why there’s a hate message

on my empty Tumblr page?

Do I want to know why

you wouldn’t look me in the eye for three days

until I had to move to a table away

’cause I couldn’t stand the silence?

Do I want to know why

my friend had to play telephone between us at the skating rink,

because you couldn’t talk to me up front,

but said that I should stop “blaming you?”

Do I want to know why

you ignored EVERY text message?

Every, “I’m sorry,”

every, “What did I do?”

every, “Do you even care about this friendship anymore?”

Do I want to know why

you said hello to me in the hallway

and smiled at me in the cafeteria

when I sat in the seat across?

Can I forgive a stack of angry poems,

an un-erased hate message,

and four months of pain?

Do I want to?

Leave a Reply

