Maleficent

I wish that I could fix you

and break down this distance with fire and ice

because fire, it burns

and it changes our minds.

As soon as the fire is lit, we run

to anyone, and anyone is you

and you are cold, so cold

and it drags away the flames

but every second I see you,

every second I’m with you

makes the trees break their fingers

sheathed in your dismay.

I know that I’ve done you wrong.

I know that you are a lost cause

like the thorns that Maleficent put around the sleeping

just ’cause they couldn’t see all the wrong they had done.

I know that I’ve done you wrong

and that fire and ice cannot break this wall.

.

But perhaps,

perhaps a few words in the right direction

could make these thorns slowly bend away.

Leave a Reply

