My Catalyst

It takes a village to raise a child,

but I swear with one look you could do it alone.

With a flip of your hair

and flash of your teeth,

this world changes into something of a dream.

And my heart has always

been to slow of a reaction:

when the world was much simpler

than these equations we’re told

and I could look at you

and swear to myself that I wasn’t falling.

Oh, how I swore I wasn’t falling!

Oh,

how I was a fool to think I could overcome simple physics

and somehow, somehow stop this descent.

Because now I can wait

for the moment I run

round the edge of you soul, hanging on every word.

When I drown all the seconds

and cut off the oxygen

and wait ’til you’re burning up something inside.

And then I just leave when you’re begging for more,

knowing I’ll have more time

for this reaction to come full circle.

.

But let me tell you…

that all it takes for you to break me

is a smile.

Leave a Reply

