365 Poems: December 21st, 2014

Sticking With Stereotypes

Oh I know who you are. You’re one of those nerdy types!

Why yes, I am a nerd.

I’m part of orchestra and the robotics team.

I don’t mind going to school after hours.

I get good grades;

I enjoy writing essays;

I frequent gaming and comic book stores.

I would be happy to talk about

which Star Trek is the best,

or get excited about low gas prices

and fractal calendars.

I love fantasy and sci-fi

and have played some D&D,

Pokemon,

Fantasy Football.

Wait, what?

I like wearing make-up and going to dances

and I text people a lot.

Wait, that doesn’t seem right.

I love race cars; I love camping;

I love cookouts at the lake.

This doesn’t make sense!

I’ve been in plays.

What?

I don’t really like public speaking.

Stop!

Oh, I’m sorry.

Do I not fit into your categories?

Weird…

Leave a Reply

