365 Poems: October 26th, 2014

Picture-Perfect Lies

I can tell a story

more than I can tell the truth,

for these lines are black and blurry

and are much less understood.

I can stop the heartache

in the serene of my youth

but my lungs won’t let you listen

and I don’t think that you could.

You’ve got something in your pockets–

you’ve got something in your eyes

and it says you don’t believe it

like I really wish you would,

but this life is full of stories

and some picture-perfect lies

so I think I’ll let it play out

and we’ll say that life is good.

“Everybody Lies”
http://kara-a.deviantart.com/

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

