365 Poems: October 1st, 2014

Slightly

I am not afraid of the world

and the world is not afraid of me.

Well, actually that’s not completely true

because the world is a frightening place

filled with dark alleys around every corner

and people who aren’t what they seem to be.

I could say that the world is just unknown to me,

but this sky’s been here since the beginning

and sometimes it’s dark, but sometimes it’s light

and the monsters can’t hide from me.

I’ve got eyes open wide

and a firm grip on life

on this planet that can’t let me go.

So,

I am slightly afraid of the world

but then again,

maybe the world’s slightly afraid of me.

Leave a Reply

