365 Poems: September 4th, 2014

My Song

I don’t think people understand

how much music means to me.

I grew up in a family of drummers and violinists

and would spend Saturday afternoons

in the garage listening to band practice,

“Wild Night” blaring through the speakers.

How many concerts did I go to,

or jams in the local coffee shop?

How many times did i feel

that my parents were rock stars?

The answer is infinite.

There’s a song for every moment of my life.

3rd grade was Jordan Pruitt’s “Jump to the Rhythm”.

Last winter was Daughtry’s “Waiting for Superman”.

I wouldn’t be surprised if music saved my life once.

I don’t think people understand

that it isn’t just singing a song

or playing the strings.

Music is my life,

and no matter if it’s a recording studio concert

or the biggest hit on the radio,

every single note

matters to me.

Leave a Reply

