365 Poems: May 28th, 2014

The Things We Gave

She gave me a pen

for being more than I could.

He gave me a pencil

for being less than I wished.

I gave him a music book

so he’d never play alone.

I gave him a poster

so he’d never look away.

They gave me a sash

and an unfading smile.

I gave them all hugs

and a bittersweet goodbye.

The teachers gave us knowledge.

We gave them an experience.

The hallways gave us music.

We gave them a dance party.

Our minds gave us the memories

and we gave them a second look.

High school gave us freshman year

and we gave it all we got.

 

Have a great summer everyone! -RGNN

Leave a Reply

