365 Poems: May 4th, 2014

Heroes

Don’t call me a martyr

or a man with a map.

Don’t call me a hero

in a reporter’s cap.

I am  not very special.

Really I’m just like you.

I’ve just done a few things

you’d be too smart to do.

Maybe I am a tinker,

a soldier, a spy.

Maybe I’m a detective

whose drinks don’t run dry.

Maybe I’m a teenage girl

who talks to machines

or a little homeless boy

who follows his dreams.

Don’t call me a savior

or the Queen of the Sun.

Don’t tell me i saved them

when the damage is done.

I am not very special.

I swear that it’s true.

The world just needs a hero,

so be glad it’s not you.

Leave a Reply

