365 Poems: February 20th, 2014

Will the Sky Clear

Will the sky clear before I see you again?

For I would long to dance in the same rain

and shake off the tears of where and why and when

and forget a distance mapped out by pain.

All those who swear on suns and moons do leave

and Juliet tried to warn them in spite,

but I would swear on this wet air I breathe

and hope our storm lasts long into the night.

It’s always raining somewhere in this world

whether on your corner or on my own.

Perhaps someday we’ll find ourselves both curled

under grey blankets not so much alone.

But I shall tell you this someday my dear.

For I have never seen a sky this clear.

Leave a Reply

