October 22, 2012: A Voice and a Choice

The Words in a Song

Music is the most beautiful thing in our lives. It fills us with happiness, with joy, sometimes with sadness. But music is what keeps us different from other creatures. It is the way we create beauty that makes us so different. I love music. I love singing most of all. Right now I want to try and make my own CD of songs that I have sang. It’s a work in progress, but I’m working on it. I get my inspiration for singing from many songs, like these. This is a ton of my favorite song quotes smashed together. Do you know any of them?

I’m gonna climb a mountain and look the eagle in the eye. I won’t let fear hit my wings and tell me how high I can fly.

Fly and open up the part of you that wants to hide away.

Life’s like an hourglass glued to the table.

There’s too many things I haven’t done yet. There’s too many sunsets I haven’t seen.

I turn to you like a flower leading toward the sun.

I’m a wild flower growing in the sunshine soaking up the wave-life I was raised in.

Make a wish; take a chance; make a change and break away.

If wishes were changes, we’d all live in roses.

I almost didn’t notice all the roses and a note that said,

“If I lay here, if I just lay here would you lie with me and just forget the world?”

I’d like to make myself believe that planet Earth turns slowly.

Do you believe in magic?

Making my way downtown, walking fast, faces pass and I’m homebound.

You look so beautiful tonight in the city of blinding lights.

You don’t you your beautiful; that’s what makes you beautiful.

She loves you. With a love like that, you know you should be glad.

It’s a terrible love and I’m walking with spiders.

I run my life or is it running me?

Into your head; into your mind; out of your soul; race through your veins; you can’t escape.

I won’t cry for yesterday; there’s an ordinary world somewhere I have to find.

King of nightvision; king of insight.

The train calls just to break the silence. I wake just to break the cold.

When a heart breaks it won’t break even. 

I’ve hung a wish on every star. It hasn’t done much good so far.

Even on my weakest days, I get a little but stronger.

So call me maybe.

~ Leann Rimes, Hillary Duff, KT Tunstall, Sara Bareilles, Melanie C, Jane Dear Girls, Kelly Clarkson, Nanci Griffith, Taylor Swift, Snow Patrol, Owl City, Aly and AJ, Vanessa Carlton, U2, OneDirection, Beatles, Birdy, Lady Antebellum, Duran Duran, Indigo Girls, Kasey Chambers, The Script, Sara Evans, Carly Rae Jepsen

Sorry about all of that. I really like music. So anyway, music teaches us a lot of things. We can learn to stand up for ourselves, or just have some fun. I personally think that music is the greatest thing on our planet. Without music, I don’t know what I’d do. I don’t think you would either. So I’m really hoping to create this CD and add some of my own songs into the mix. I probably won’t show it to anybody. i just want to hear what my voice sounds like in this world of voices. Everyone has a song; they just need to find a way to sing it. Every song needs a singer. That’s what I think.

The Perfect Day

It is really easy to make me happy. It really doesn’t seem like it, considering I’m that quiet girl who everyone thinks is sad and lonely. I guess it is really easy to make me mad too, but I don’t worry about that much. People usually can’t tell the difference when I am happy or sad. I’m good at hiding both, but I feel it. Anyway, there is thing that makes me happy. It will brighten my day more than anything else. Do you know what it is?

It’s being noticed.

All it takes to make me happy is that one awesome Art teacher who sees me in the back of the class and asks me how I am doing. All it takes is for him to say my picture is awesome and to have it be part of the display case in the hallway. Thanks Mr.F for making my days better in 4th period. Your the coolest teacher ever.

All it takes is that one random kid to say, “I like you shoes!” All it takes is that friend that you weren’t sure was a friend to compliment you on the shirt you were afraid of wearing. I thank those random people for complimenting me and making me happier. You’re the ones who understand.

All it takes is a like on Facebook. All it takes is a smile during class. All it takes is the random text that makes me laugh. All it takes is a liked post (hint hint). These are all it takes to make me happy. These small acts of kindness change my day the most. Small acts of kindness barely ever happen because they seem so useless to be given. They don’t seem like they could do much so people just don’t give them. The people who take the time to give that kindness are the real heroes. They are the ones that will change me, not a good grade or winning the lottery. All it takes is to be noticed. In my life, all it takes to make me smile is for one person to prove my theory that my existence on this planet is not for nothing. i know that what I’m saying is not true. I know that I do mean something to the world; it is just that sometimes I can forget. I don’t want to forget. These people help me not forget. So I am thanking you all for these random acts of kindness. You mean the most to me.

Click back next week for more topics from a real girl’s thoughts, where no name comes between what’s in your head and what’s out of it.

 

Leave a Reply

